The Lincolnton boys captured the People’s Bank Holiday Clash last week with a 67-5 win over Bandys.  Robbie Cowie of Lincolnton was named the tournaments MVP.  North Gaston placed third with a 67-61 win over Bandys.  In the girl’s division, North Gaston won the tournament with a 37-36 win over Lincolnton.  Bandy’s placed third with a 62-33 win over West Lincoln.  Spencer Britton of North Gaston was named the girls tournament MVP.  
The Cherryville Ironmen captured their Christmas Tournament  last week with a 58-54 win over Piedmont Charter.  Nathan Jeffers of Cherryville was named the tournament’s MVP.  Bessemer City placed third with a 71-40 win over Sugar Creek Charter.  Sugar Creek Charter won the girls division with a 48-22 win over Piedmont Charter.  Bessemer City girls placed third with a 53-38 win over Cherryville.
In the Cleveland County boys Holiday Classic Collins Hill, Atlanta downed Kings Mountain 58-45 to win the title.  Concord downed Burns 89-56 to take third place and Shelby defeated Crest 79-51 to take fifth place.  In the girls division, the Phillip O. Berry Cardinals downed Shelby 42-31 to take home the championship.  Burns placed third with a 72-56 win over Crest. Kings Mountain downed Hunter Huss 54-50 to take fifth place.  West Meck downed South Point 57-22 for seventh place.  
Mallard Creek captured their second straight East Lincoln Winter Jam girls basketball tournament last week with a 76-69 win over East Lincoln.  Forestview placed third with a 74-59 win over Northwest Cabarrus.  
Hats off to Kabian McClendon of East Lincoln.  McClendon scored his 1,000 career point last week in the Mustangs 73-57 win over Forestview.  
Hats off to East Lincoln’s Destiny Johnson.  Johnson set a girls school single game scoring record with 44 point in the Mustangs win over Lake Norman Charter.  
Shelby’s Dax Hollified has been named the North Carolina Defenesive Player of the Year by the Associated Press.  Also South Point Red Raider Lineman Larry Dowdy was named to the Offensive Team.    
Former Hunter Huss basketball star Brandon Blalock picked up his career 100th win as head basketball coach.  Blalock serves as the head coach of the Central Cabarrus High girls basketball team.  In eight seasons he has posted a 100-78 record.  Blalock is a 1999 graduate of Hunter Huss.

Hats off to Lincolnton boys basketball coach Bob Cowie.  Cowie picked up this 1,000 career win with a 69-55 win over Draughn last week.  
Shelby’s Dax Hollifield has been named the Cleveland County High School Football Player of the Year.  In his career Hollifield has competed in more games than anyone in the history of high school football in the state of North Carolina with 63.

The Gaston Gazette has named their first team All Area High School Football Team.  This included players from Gaston and Lincoln Counties.  First team offensive players included Scottie Lee, Jake Alexander, Ray Grier all of South Point.  Tyshaun Harris of Lincolnton.  Riccalylen Mack, Collin Franks and Jonathan Rikard of Kings Mountain.  Heze Massey of Clover.  Emanuel Bido of Bessemer City.  The first team defensive team included Dylan Collins and Robert Truesdale of Stuart Cramer.

Ryan Matz of East Lincoln.  Jerdon Pressley and J.T. Cash of Kings Mountain.  Prince Bemah and Tony Davis of Hunter Huss.  Mason King of Mountain Island. Jay Sadler and Zavon Willions of Bessemer City.  Nick Sciba of Clover was named Kicker of the Year and Cruyff Fleurine of Cherryville was named the Specialist of the Year.  Matthew Robinson of South Point was named the Defensive Player of the Year.  Ricaylen Mack of Kings Mountain was named the Offensive Player of the Year.  Bessemer City’s Larry Boone was named the Coach of the Year.
East Lincoln’s Ryan Matz has signed to play football at the United States Military Academy at West Point.  
The Star has named their Cleveland County High School Football Team.  First team members include Dax Hollifield, Jaylon Scott, Xavier Brooks and Malik Sarratt of Shelby.  Also Lannden Zanders, B.J. Ramseur and Jeremiah Boykins of Crest.  Kujuan Pryor and Stomy Mosteller of Burns.  Ricaylen Mack, Kaylon Wade, Jerdon Pressley and Micah Randall of Kings Mountain.  
Hunter Huss athletic trainer Jarrett Friday has been nominated for the 2018 Newell National Athletic Trainer of the Year.  The award recognizes athletic trainers for the service and leadership they provide local athletic communities.  Jarrett has been in the Gaston County School system since 2004.  The national winner will take home $10,000 for themselves and $2,500 for their schools.